The Wedding Is OFF?!?

Pardon the interruption….

As much as I bitched and bitched about Christopher getting married before me…I’m disheartened to hear that marriage may no longer be legal for gay and lesbians in California.  Daniel informed me today that it looks like the “Yes on Proposition 8” assholes are winning.  Apparently, their message of hate is resonating with young people.  

Sadly, my best friend’s wedding in California could be off. As I mentioned previously, Christopher plans to marry in California, and with some luck and help from Governor Patterson, gay marriages will be recognized in the state of NY.

The purpose of this blog was never intended to be a giant political statement.  It’s about sharing my life with my four gay best friends with you.  

However, I don’t look at gay marriage as a political statement, it’s a basic human right be it republican or democrat. Therefore, I implore everyone in NY, CA, FL, and every city in between to support “No on 8” and donate ASAP.

As much as I’m loathe to be a bridesmaid, I’d be even more sickened if Chris were unable to fly to California to marry the man he loves.

One last thing, and then I promise to hurl myself from this soapbox.  Where are donations from gay celebrities like Rosie O’Donnell? Ellen Degeneres? Melissa Ethridge? Elton John? Clay Aiken? I could go on and on.  As I sit here looking at my pug, Madonna, I also wonder where is the other Madonna?  Why hasn’t she spoken out? Or donated money considering it’s the gay dollar that has supported her from day one?

Before you send me hate emails about how much money these entertainers have donated and raised for various charity organizations, let me just say this, the solidification of gay marriage is historic and is a fight we all must get behind to ensure equal rights for all.

I’ll be back to regular scheduling programming in a hot minute.  My friends take precedence over my personal ramblings.

XO,

Farrah

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Wedding Is OFF?!?

  1. DOT

    I AGREE…THIS IS SUCH AN IMPORTANT BILL TO BE PASSED AND IT DOES NEED THE BACKING OF THE “STARS” SO TO SPEAK! I WANT TO TELL MY CHILDREN EVERYONE IS EQUAL AND AS LONG AS THE GAY POPULATION IS NOT ALLOWED TO LEGALLY MARRY, I WILL BE UNABLE TO DO SO. WE LIVE IN AMERICA, THE HOME OF THE FREE, NOT SO MUCH, UNLESS YOU MEET AN EXACT REPLICA OF WHAT IS EXPECTED. SO GET ON YOUR SOAPBOX AND PREACH GIRL!!!

  2. Michael

    Thanks, Farrah, for this post! I live in LA and I just got off a volunteer shift working the phone banks here asking registered voters to VOTE NO ON PROP 8. I was shocked–SHOCKED!–by how many people actually told me they were voting YES on PROP 8! (You know who you are in Orange County!) A lot of folks said that they would vote NO (including a lot of hetero peeps–bless them), but polls show if the vote took place today it would be split down the middle. One vote could literally decide the fate for all same-sex couples!

    So thanks for the support on the East Coast. Keep up the great writing… You are my new Carrie Bradshaw… and remember a NO on 8 is a YES for same-sex marriage! (So I guess sometimes NO really does mean YES, huh?)

Leave a Reply

